House approves three new faces for electoral commission

News Politics

The Somaliland House of Representatives (HoR), has approved three new names to join the electoral commission.

The three Ahmed Hassan Osman, Musa Hassan Yussuf and Ahmed Yussuf Mohamed. Their inclusion now completes the electoral commission which was short in its membership.

The house had in June rejected a list of names presented to it by President Muse Bihi.

But this time, the house unanimously voted in the three commissioners with 70 votes out of 70 MPs present for the session.

The incomplete number of the National Electoral Commissioners (NEC) was one of the contentious issues between the government and its party – Kulmiye, on the one side, and the opposition parties of UCID and Waddani on the other.

The HoR approval finally completes the 7-member Commission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *